Marathon History


JAY 2 JAY 20150223_102141

Jay Stephan Sr. raced in the very first Marathon in 1947, and was caught up in a battle for 1st place before his partner, Jack Davis, cramped up. In 1951, Jay and Ted Engle, Jr. became the first team to break the 18 hour mark. Their margin of victory that year was 42 minutes, which is a Marathon record that still stands. Jay and Ted were also the first team to win three Marathons in a row, after which they were awarded permanent possession of the Tom Marston Trophy. Jay had tremendous endurance and a terrific knowledge of the river. He was inducted into the inaugural class of the Marathon Hall of Fame in 2006. Best Time: 17:36:55, Rookie Year: 1947 , Pro Starts: 6, Pro Finishes: 6, End: Stern ┬áCareer Pts: 550, Top 50 Rank: 33rd Wins: 3 Top 5’s: 6 Top 10’s: 6

1947 2nd place, 21:27:00
1948 2nd place, 20:11:00
1950 1st place, 18:32:00
1951 1st place, 17:36:55
1952 1st place, 17:48:00
1957 4th place, 18:36:00

About Carrie